You need to know what happens when you reset your phone to be safe before you sell your phone to anyone. You may also need to reset your phone if it starts to behave erratically. Every year, top brands in smart phone industry launch new phone iterations with latest technology and innovative features. For some businesses, upgrading phones becomes a necessity to keep pace with the growing technology. But, before giving your phone to new owners, you need to make sure there is no sensitive data present on your phone anymore.
What happens when you reset your phone?
There are many reset options in phones which range from partial to full reset. However before commencing with reset, be sure to save your data somewhere else. Best way is to sync your data to services like iCloud or Google. This will save you from frustration of restoring everything in your phone manually.
If you want to completely reset your phone, you need to choose the option of “Erase all content and settings.” Make sure you’ve charged your phone fully because resetting can take a long time ranging from a few minutes to hours. No matter how much time it takes, don’t disturb your phone while it’s resetting. The phone will restart when it completes the reset process.
Now coming to the question, “What happens when you reset your phone,” there are a few things that the reset process does to your phone.
Personal data -Reset removes all of your personal data from the phone. It removes all the apps that you downloaded since you bought the phone. It also removes all of your personal data, notes, contacts, etc. Factory-installed apps also lose the preferences set by you and go into default mode. Resetting removes all of your personal information and your phone is fit for sale. In other words, the phone returns to its original factory settings after reset.
Phone Software –Reset doesn’t remove the phone software. It also retains the recent software upgrades you may have downloaded for your phone. Without this software, a phone cannot even on.
Read About Mirror iPhone to TV without WI-FI
Factory installed software –As you cannot delete the apps that come with a phone, reset also does not remove these apps. Such apps include apps like Calendar, Camera, Notes, YouTube, some games that come pre-installed with phones, promotional apps, etc. However, what happens when you reset your phone is that it removes all of your personal preferences from these apps such as your photos, the videos you watched on you tube, your login details.
Jailbreak for iPhones –If you’re resetting your iPhone and have jailbreak, reset will remove jailbreak software just like it removes all the other apps. Along with Jailbreak, it will also remove the apps you downloaded through jailbreak.
Login details –Reset deletes all the login information present on your phone across all the apps. However, it doesn’t in any way remove your login credentials associated with those apps. When you install the apps again after restoration, you can use the same login credentials to log into the apps.
Read About My iPhone wont Charge
Backups –Similar is the case with backup. After syncing your data with iCloud or Google or the likes, when you reset your phone, it removes data from the phone only. It can’t remove data from your backup accounts as it is not present in your phone. However, do note that you will lose any data that you enter after the last sync before resetting your phone. You can add it manually later on.
Now that you know what happens when you reset your phone, you can handover your phone confidently to the new owners.